17 Minutes of my yesterday

Yesterday marked the first day of the Reebok Crossfit Open competiton. The competition is open to anyone and everyone in the world. Over 110,000 people have signed up to compete this year. If you are part of a Crossfit affiliate then you know exactly what I’m speaking of. If not, you can check out this link http://games.crossfit.com for a full description.
With every day leading up to this competition many athletes speculated on what Crossfit HQ would throw at us for a first workout or WOD13.1. Here it is:
Workout 13.1
17 minute AMRAP( as many reps as possible) of:
40 Burpees
30 Snatch, 75 / 45 lbs
30 Burpees
30 Snatch, 135 / 75 lbs
20 Burpees
30 Snatch, 165 / 100 lbs
10 burpees
Max rep Snatch, 210 / 120 lbs

Yay burpees!! Not so much. I don’t know a lot of people who enjoy burpees, or snatch. For a description of what a power snatch is you can check this out. (http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/PowerSnatch.html)

I had decided to complete this workout yesterday. Was I nervous? Duh?, yes I was! Broken and taped together,( a fact, not a plea for sympathy) I gave it my best shot. It’s done. Sigh!! Could I have gone faster, could I have completed a few more reps? What could I have done differently? Oh, so many questions. In the end I’ve ascertained that I did do my best on the day. Would the competitive me have wanted to squeeze out a few more reps out. Hells ya!
Upon reflection, I know that I’ve done what I could do to prepare for this. This past year, my body has been breaking down from time to time. I know I’m not the only one facing the challenges of being an older, well, I prefer ‘seasoned’ athlete. I have to trust that my training has prepared me for anything or any workout this competition throws at me. If I haven’t prepared properly, it’s too damn late now to worry about it.
I’d rather celebrate it. 🙂 Now, it’s time for me thank my body with a good long therapeutic massage. And a good glass of wine. Cheers

2 thoughts on “17 Minutes of my yesterday

  1. I did my 13.1 workout today and am truly happy that its done…It was a major challenge to the lungs. I was there yesterday to witness your amazing go at it. You are a true athlete and you never seize to amaze me. You got through that workout, what appeared to be, effortlessly despite your injuries and let me tell you…you gave a lot of 20 somethings and 30 somethings a run for their money. You are an inspiration and I’m proud of you 🙂

Leave a comment